Follow

Guide to Screensharing with Glia

Screensharing allows operators and visitors to share non-web based programs with one another.

 

How is Screensharing is different from CoBrowsing?

CoBrowsing allows operator and visitor to collaboratively browse a webpage. This is completely web-based and allows for dual cursor navigation. Screenshare, on the other hand, is a one-way experience in which operator can share their screen or ask a visitor to share their screen. Unlike CoBrowsing, this allows for the sharing of applications that are not web-based, i.e. office programs, document managers and other tools.

 

How do I use Screenshare for the first time?

In order to screenshare with a visitor you must first install a Chrome extension. This is a one-time process that takes less than a minute to complete. To add the extension:

  1. While in an engagement click the screenshare button above the chat panel
  2. Select “Share my screen” or “Ask for visitor’s screen”
  3. Chrome will display a modal requesting permission to add the Chrome extension
  4. Select “Install extension” and follow the prompts

You are then ready to screenshare with customers.

 

Share_Screen.png

Screen_Shot_2018-08-22_at_10.28.51.png

 

How do I share my screen with a visitor?

1. Offering screenshare

Share_Screen.png

    1. While in an engagement click the screenshare button above the chat panel
    2. Select “Share my screen”

2. Selecting a screen

Screen_Shot_2018-08-22_at_10.38.17.pngScreen_Shot_2018-08-22_at_10.37.49.png

    1. The operator can choose from any number of windows to share with the visitor including:
      • Application window - a specific type of application (i.e. Chrome, Excel, Adobe)
      • Your entire screen - all contents of the computer screen
      • Chrome tab - a specific tab within Google Chrome

3. Visitor experience

    1. Once the operator is sharing their screen the visitor can then move or resize the screen as desired

4. Ending screenshare

Screen_Shot_2018-08-22_at_10.40.20.png

    1. To end the screenshare the operator clicks “Stop sharing”

 

How does the visitor share his/her screen with me?

1. Request screenshare

Share_Screen.png

  1. While in an engagement Operator can click the screenshare button above the chat panel
  2. Select “Ask for visitor’s screen”

2.  Selecting a screen

Screen_Shot_2018-08-22_at_10.42.29.pngScreen_Shot_2018-08-22_at_10.44.55.png

  1. Visitor has to accept the screensharing request
  2. Visitor can choose which screens he or she wants to share

3. Operator experience

Screenshot_2019-08-19_at_15.13.23.png

  1. Once the visitor is sharing his/her screen the operator can then move or resize the screen as desired

4. Ending screenshareScreen_Shot_2018-08-22_at_10.40.20.png

  1. Operator can end the screenshare by clicking on “Stop sharing”      Screen_Shot_2018-08-22_at_10.53.55.png
  2. Visitor can end the screenshare by clicking “End screen sharing”

 

Other things to note:

  • Multi-engage: when in multi-engage you can only share screens with 1 visitor at a time
  • Screensharing is compatible when visitors are using Google Chrome.

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful
Have more questions? Submit a request

Comments