Follow

Transferring Engagements

1. Initiate the transfer

While in an engagement, click the transfer button on the top right, next to the end engagement button.

transferButton_20191008.png

Remember that you have the ability to communicate with the visitor during the whole transfer process. This helps them stay engaged and not feel abandoned while waiting for someone else to assist them.

2. Choose the target for the transfer

Engagements can be transferred directly to specific operators, sent to queues, or forwarded to external contacts.

If your company has multiple Glia sites connected to each other, you are able to look for the most suitable receiver for your transfer from the other sites’ operators and queues as well, if you change the site from the drop-down menu in the top left corner of the Transfer window. 

sortThroughSites.png

a) Transferring engagement directly to an operator

Under the Operators tab in your Transfer window, you can see the list of operators to choose from. Operators can be searched by their name, email, or team they belong to.

The list of operators consists only of the ones who are potentially available for the transfer. This means that they are online, available for the same media as is your current engagement, but can be either engaged or unengaged. You can either choose an unengaged operator from the list and start transfer or wait for the engaged one to finish her current conversation.

Regarding the media, video is slightly exceptional, it allows a downgrade to audio if needed. Thus while transferring the video engagement you can choose operators available for video, but also for audio - you may transfer the engagement to the right operator according to competence, etc.

Transfer_20191008.png

b) Transferring engagement to a specific queue 

All the queues available for transfer are listed under the Queues tab. The availability depends on various parameters: 

  • The type of media allowed
    • For queue to be shown, its media should be the same as your ongoing engagement media; except in video’s case - video engagements are always sent to queue as audio.
  • Queue status
    • For queue to be shown as available, it must be open at this time of day, and
    • the queue may not be full. 
  •  Queue staffing settings
    • For queue to be shown as available, it must welcome new visitors:
      • Either the queue is staffed, or
      • the queue is set to accept visitors even when unstaffed.

While choosing the queue to transfer your engagement, be sure to be familiar with this queue’s settings!

See more in Engagement Routing in Queues

Screenshot_2019-08-28_at_11.31.41.png

c) Transferring phone engagements to an external contact

The phone contacts of third parties that are not using Glia are visible under the External numbers tab. 

You can only see the contacts related to the site you’re currently engaged with; even if your company has multiple sites. If the desired contact is missing from the list, it is possible to manually insert the number where to forward the call. Note that this number will not be automatically saved to contacts (this can be done in Quick Contacts).

Screenshot_2019-08-22_at_09.59.13.png 

3. Start the transfer

Once you make the decision to whom the engagement should be transferred, it is recommended to write a short message to make the transfer smoother. The message will be seen by the operator taking over the engagement, to give her the opportunity to pick up where you left off. 

a) Transferring engagement directly to an operator

transfertooperator.png

After clicking the "Start transfer to operator" wait for the operator to answer.

WaitForReply.png

The operator on the other side will receive the transfer request along with the message that you included.

incomingTransfer_20191022.png

  • The transfer is accepted

Once the receiving operator accepts the transfer you can let the customer know that they have accepted it, say goodbye and click "Transfer Now".

transferring_20191022.png

The visitor will be transferred to the new operator. The new operator will be able to see the visitor's previous chat history and if they look in the notes section they can see the message you sent during the transfer. 

If you click “Cancel” the transfer is aborted and you’ll be taken back to Transfer window to choose another operator or queue.

  • The transfer is declined

If you transfer an engagement and the receiving operator declines or does not accept it within 30 seconds, the transfer is stopped and the following pop-up is displayed, showing the reason why the transfer was unsuccessful. 

unavailable_20191022.png

Click “Back” and select another operator to transfer the engagement to.

When selecting another operator the context giving note you sent previously will be saved.

b) Transferring engagement to a specific queue 

While transferring the engagement to a queue, there are no additional steps to indicate the receiving party’s acceptance or decline. After clicking the “Send to queue” button the engagement is transferred to the queue and the receiving operator will be chosen according to queue’s settings.

c) Transferring phone engagements to an external contact

While transferring the phone engagement to an external contact, after clicking “Send to external number” the call is forwarded to the external number and current engagement will be finished.

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful
Have more questions? Submit a request

Comments